Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

JosRapp
Senior Contributor

A Lifetime of Loneliness

Hi. This is my first time here, so I am sorry if this might come out a little incoherent at times, because I am actually nervous about this.

So. I am 43, and I am lonely. I always have been, for as long as I can remember when I was young. I’ve never had any friends, not even when I was a child. I was always the subject of a lot of bullying, not just from other kids but from teachers and adults as well. And nobody really seemed to care, not even my family. I still don’t have friends. There is nobody at work to talk with, or even have lunch with. I have tried volunteering, and have had some very bad experiences, mostly more bullying. I go to several groups, like a walking group, but again, there just isn’t anyone there that I can talk with, and most of the time I end up walking alone. I play sport on a Saturday morning, have done for 13 years now, but again, there is nobody to talk with there. I try to start conversations, but, well I can’t remember the last time I talked to someone and got much further than just hello before they walked away. I’ve done classes and courses, with the same thing. Being around people that I share an interest with doesn’t seem to help at all. I go to the gym 3 times a week, but it is not a good place to try and talk to people or meet anyone it seems. I have been going for 2 years and, apart from the staff in the first two weeks I went there, there hasn’t been anyone else to talk with since then.