Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

48m
New Contributor

Lost

Hi.

This is my first time on here, actually it's the first time on any forum. Anyway here's my story. I have anxiety and depression which I guess are due to many things. Like my old school ( read militant ) upbringing, being a deep thinker, my expectations of myself. More recently my failure as a husband, father and contributing member of society. After my marriage breakdown a decade ago I was unable to see my kids for 5 ish years. Then after an expensive and nasty court case during which I was advised to just keep smiling and jump through as many hoops as my bitter and vindictive ex saw fit. In the end I passed every test with flying colours and gained court ordered visitation so for the next few years i spent time with my beautiful 2 little treasures every second weekend. Over those years I made sure never uttered a bad word to the kids about her ( everyone deserves to love their mum without some idiot poisoning it ) ( wish I was shown the same respect). Also over that time I bowed down to her every wish knowing that if i didn't seeing the kids would be made difficult. Then last November i went against the grain standing my ground on some things and also requested to be more involved in their education ect. Things went down hill quickly from there until January when I was informed that the kids no longer want to see me anymore. Even though this was breaking the court order if i force them to see me ( their both under 10 ) it more than likely will damage and hurt them. Definitely better me being hurt than them. Since then I tried to keep in contact via phone and texts to no avail and have basically been wiped from their lives