Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

J_J1
New Contributor

New here

Hi all,

I'm new to this sort of thing so forgive me.

I'm a 31 year old in a long term relationship with a good job I feel like I should be happy but I'm not. For years now I feel I've had issues with depression and anxiety and just over a year ago I seen a Psychologist for CBT as he believed I didn't need meds at the time. Now I feel more down than ever the feelings of hopelessness and worthlessness are overwhelming to the point where I feel I'd rather be dead. I joined this to try and see if I could find some people who are in the same boat as me to get different views and maybe work through how I'm feeling.

sorry if this was too long 

thanks

8 REPLIES 8
Former-Member
Not applicable

Re: New here

Hi @J_J1 

Welcome to the forum! Well done for reaching out to a professional and now to others in this forum, they are huge steps!

Psychologists cannot prescribe medication, only a GP or psychiatrist can. You might want to talk to your GP or get a referral to a psychiatrist if you don't feel the support with your psychologist is helping. 

I think most of us on the forum can relate to the problems, especially in the beginning, to start meds, find a psychologist, psychiatrist, GP that is a good match and all the changes that come with it. It also applies to types of therapy. CBT is only one approach, for example that CBT doesn't work for me.

What would you like to ask to help you on your journey? Everyone here is really nice & supportive. Take care 

@J_J1  Welcome from me also.

I think @Former-Member  has said everything I would have said so well. We are here for you. Take care.

Hey there @J_J1, welcome to the forums!