Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

AnxiousMe
Senior Contributor

OCD anxiety

Hello

I am new to this whole speaking on a forum thing but i wanted to see if anyone has had the same feeling.

i was diagnosed with ocd at 20 i am now 27 

my first major spike scared the absolute poo out of me i lived in fear and anxiety that i would become my thoughts even know i knew who i was and the thoughts were not a reflection of me as a person. Alot of time crying in the shower on my way to work didn’t tell anyone because of the subject of the thoughts was horrible until i said to myself “I am sick of this” i need help from that point of i seen 4 physiologists (they were a team) i told them my story a few days later they came back and said you have OCD was like a weight off my shoulders i was still scared and anxious but i felt better....fast forward till now 

i had been feeling good the last 6-7 years i still had thoughts but wasn’t as anxious and if i was it didn’t last long until.. I finally quit my 10 year habit of smoking cigarettes then after a couple of weeks BANG crippling anxiety ocd running wild scared im going to lose touch with reality and become schizophrenic and deluded  i have never been diagnosed with a phycosis and my physiatrist said I don’t show signs of it but the outrageous doubt this illness it makes me feel is shocking makes be doubt the most basic things the worst one is scared i will think my son is not mine when i watched him enter this world and has always been the highlight of my life i understand its all in my head and unrealistic but wow the feeling of doubt it no good im sorry about the long message it could have been longer to be Honest haha 

9 REPLIES 9