Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

MindfulGal
New Contributor

how do I NOT take it personally?

Hello. 

I'm new to this, and relatively new to the situation I find myself in recently - with a depressive partner. He "knows" he needs to do something to help himself, but he has yet to really be serious about it. In the meantime, it's like being in a relationship with Jekyll and Hyde: one moment he's himself, the next he's irritable, short, negative and sometimes darnright nasty.

I've heard that we shouldn't take things personally, that it's the depression and not HIM talking, but when he turns his mood onto me - making snide remarks about MY character (that I know are a reflection of how he feels about himself) it's really hard not to take things personally. It feels like he doesn't love and respect me anymore, even though I KNOW that's not the case. It's really starting to take a toll on me, and frankly the way I feel about him. How does love survive this? How do others cope? 

9 REPLIES 9

Re: how do I NOT take it personally?

I am aware that this might be something of an obvious question but have you spoken to him about how all this is making you feel?

Not when he is at his worst, but when he is at his best.

Hellooo @MindfulGal

It is heartbreaking when our loved ones begin to change in ways that are confusing to both them and us. Can I ask if yor partner is in his early 20s? The reason is that is prime time for onset and diagnosis of major mental illnesses. Getting a diagnosis from a pdoc (rather than a GP) may be wise, as depression is often a symptom and not the final diagnosis; sadly it often takes a crisis for patients to seek help.