Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Diamond
Senior Contributor

teenage son with undiagnosed ocd with poor insight

Hi everyone,
I'm only new at this single mum with 2 teenage kids, my son has had anxiety for the last year or so!
Got extremely bad after he broke up with his gf of 3years!
He is withdrawn not eating much:( very angry and agitated, he is in his room praying and reading the bible and watching saints movies!
He believe his calling is to b a priest which is fantastic if it is!
His attendance for school is very poor, no communications between us at all!
he believes he wants to live like a saint in order to get into heaven, he removed himself from all social activities not to cause him to sin!
He sleeps on the floor! He believes I'm a sinner thus he doesn't want to listen to anything I have to say!
he is refusing to get help or talk to anyone!
I contacted soooo many sites for mental health and came out with the same outcome that I basically need to wait for him to hit rock bottom before I can get him some help!
My dad suffered with skitsophrania all his life and I am terrified that this is wat he might b suffering from?
I look for signs all the time! It's sooo hard because he lives in his own world in his room at home!
Huge change in him from being talkative outgoing loving school to being exactly the opposite!
it is soooo hard to accept the changes! I feel soooo sad for seeing him struggle like this!
I can't stop thinking about it:( this is the hardest thing I have ever been thru in my life!
I think if only he agrees to seek help? If only he could recognize how irrational his behavior has been?