Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

anthariamac
Casual Contributor

Feeling like an emotional punching-bag and not sure what to do

So this is pretty complex. I have Borderline Personality Disorder, and which I found out about almost a year ago now. I've been with my boyfriend for maybe 10 months of that, so he's really been around since I started learning all about this illness and made some major changes in my life. My previous relationship died during a long dissociative episode, but had been characterised for several months by what I feel now is emotional abuse of my partner - as I didn't know I was ill, I blamed him for everything I was feeling and treated him in a way I am now deeply ashamed of. He would often ask "Why aren't you this way with other people? Why is it just me?" And I wouldn't have an answer, of course. I didn't know I was wrong.

Fast forward to now. My current partner was in the midst of an episode of depression when we met, but with some nudging he sought therapy and has emerged from that fairly happy and healthy. He has trouble with anxiety and feelings of worthlessness, but the full-blown depression has not returned.