Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Minnymouse
New Contributor

Feeling lost and overwhelmed

Hello, 

We're to start I am new to this sort of chat thing. But I am really struggling with my mental health right now. 

I am married with 2 kids and work upward of 30 hours a week and my job is adding to my struggling. I feel lost and angry and worried about everything all the time. 

Help please anyone 

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Feeling lost and overwhelmed

Hi and welcome, @Minnymouse , it's good to have you here.

I'm sorry to hear your mental health is not good at the moment 😞

Do you have any professional support? Like a counsellor, meds, psychologist or psychiatrist?

If not, then the first step is to visit your GP and ask for a Mental Health Care Plan. This will entitle you to 10 (20 during Covid) subsidised sessions with a psychologist per year. The only thing is that psychologists are so overwhelmed with demand at the moment that it could take 6 months to get in to see one. But it's a good idea to get on the waiting list now. 

You can help this process by googling then ringing round psychologists in your area to ask: are they taking new patients at the moment, what is the wait time for a new patient to start, what are the costs, etc. Then you can take a name to your GP for the Mental Health Care Plan referral. (GPs might not know which psychologists are taking new patients and which have stopped as they are full.)

Good luck...

A handy forum tip is if you type @ and then click on a name in the drop-down box, that person will get a notification and won't miss your reply. 🙂

I hope you find the forums supportive...

Hi @Minnymouse