Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

worried13
New Contributor

I think my partner might have borderline personality disorder

Hi, this is my first time posting and I guess I’m just looking for some guidance, help or resources.

I’m 25 and my partner is 26, I struggle with anxiety and my partner experiences what he believes to be depression (he hasn’t seen a psychologist or professional for longer than a few sessions so does not have a diagnoses) however recently he mentioned he thinks he might have a personality disorder.

Since then I’ve spent time looking online and reflecting back on our arguments and his behaviour during the time we’ve been together and after reading this article today i’m finding that every single symptom matches up with his behaviour and even how he talks me/makes me feel about myself

He said he wants to make a change but he is very against accepting any kind of help from me or a professional (seeing someone in the past hasn’t helped he says), he also struggles financially so getting help is difficult because of that too

I want to support him and be there for him and be able to help him find out what his options are, can anyone help me? What can we do?

I’m a social work student nearing the end of my degree and i’m finding it harder and harder each day to be there for him (and take care of myself) with him pushing me away/verbally abusing me/starting arguments/accusing me of being untrustworthy and not loving him despite doing everything I can he only sees the bad and thinks that the support I give him is never good enough

4 REPLIES 4

Re: I think my partner might have borderline personality disorder

Hi @worried13