Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Aw84
Contributor

Need some direction

Hi all,

This is my first time using the forums, so a bit about me.

I have cluster b personality traits and probable ASD. I just like to say im neurodiversive. 

Ive been unemployed now going on 7 months. I worked in the finance sector (something i didnt want to do in the first place) for over a decade and want to work and volunteer in the healthcare/medical sector as its closer to my interests. Im on medications, been on different kinds since i was a teenager, and recently underwent TMS therapy. 

Im increasingly concerned about my "everyday" alienation and if it will lead back to previous self harm behaviours. I dislike being unemployed, and I have concerns of its long term effects. Everyday fustration is also unpleaseant. 

Ive contacted some different agencies and such, and i submitt applications every day, but  I really feel services to assist someone like me are lacking. Surely someone can point me in the right direction of an agency or group who can assist me find even volunteer work? Anything to get a foothold into the healthcare sector. if i ever needed assistance it would be now. My wife struggles to assist me and i dont think i have a strong support network overall, its hard to tell sometimes. Even if theres some kind of support group i could go to, for people with mental health issues struggling to find roles? I have no purpose at the moment, i need something. Maybe even advice on how to best manage myself during this downtime.

Any advice, tips or directions anybody can give me is appriciated. 

12 REPLIES 12

Re: Need some direction