Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

sharona
Contributor

how to handle threats and bullying - new to forum

I am new to any forums and today is my son's 31 birthday. 

He has has some form of mental illness since his teens. The diagnosis and symptoms change over time.

The latest was Avoidant Personality Disorder but now  possibly Conversion Disorder  as well. The first  was Body Dismorphic Disorder and Social phobia. It seems to have progressed. There have also been psychotic episodes and continuing anxiety and depression.

A couple of years ago after years of  what seemed to be Social Phobia (extreme) with depression he suddenly developed visual distrubances correlating to "Visual Snow" and later more seemingly neurological symptoms. At this time , he went down drastically and became extremely suicidal and aggressive.For the first time,I ended up coercing him into going to emergency department by focussing on his visual symptoms. It was a terrible experience. Hours with a very disturbed boy holding on by a thread. They refused to talk to me and he always denies any mental health issues, so was put at the bottom of the queue. Eventually he was assessed and put in the attached mental health facility where they promised to do lots of tests. They didn't and sent him home without calling me first. It had taken me at least 2 years to get him there. Eventually, after  my  agonising calls to Mental healthwith threatsof violence etc, their advice was for him to see a psyhologist. he diidn't of course and they withdrew medication and  all help, as he said he is fine and refused to see their psychologist (avoidant personality disorder!)