Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Smallsupporter
New Contributor

Growing up with older sister with BPD

Hi, I'm new to this but wanted to share my story.

Growing up I had to cope with my older sister with BPD and depression. 

She would lash out all her anger at me and physically abuse me. That was just a normal day in my childhood. She would be yelling at me, throwing my stuff everywhere, and hitting me. 

My parents would be walking around eggshells. I don't think my parents gave her the support she needed at the time. She had few suicide attempts and I was always the last one she'd speak to before she went MIA. The constant fear that she might've killed herself still haunts me. She is much better now however I still have my worries that one day she'd break down again. 

She verbally abused me on regular basis. Saying "I wish you were dead", "why were you born, you ruined everything for me", " I hate you, go k**l yourself" and " I am not your sister, don't talk to me ever". 

When we were younger my sister would threaten me if I told our parents what happened, so most of the time I stayed silent. 

When she would have an episode she would tell me "I am cutting ties with you, you will never see me again" and disappear but later come back. This behavior had me so exhausted because she cuts me off and I'm extremely hurt but when she's ready to come back, I would just have to accept. 

I feel like I have been a carer for her mental illness growing up. I would always try to bottle up my emotions in front of my parents because I knew they already had so much on the plate with my sister.