Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

SSGG
Casual Contributor

Hello! I'm new and don't know what I'm doing yet

Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie here, and haven't really participated in anything like this before so hoping to learn as I go along. Feel free to give me pointers.

A bit about myself ...

I am a complex trauma survivor and an advocate. I've recently started participating in committees and national forums to share my lived experience (as a child abuse and domestic violence survivor) that will hopefully contribute towards policy making and changing. It's been a really interesting journey so far and I want to do more of it!

The other reason is I've just hit a point in my life where no career makes sense anymore. I've tried to do some work, in corporate or public sectors, but have found myself really struggling to get by and getting really triggered (I hate capitalism 😅🤔). So I'm really venturing into the advocacy and peer work space. It feels more genuine.

I wonder if there are other people here that are experiencing similar ways???

It all really started when I got really inquisitive on my own trauma, and where it all kinda stems from ... and I could trace it back very very clearly to this funked up mix of colonisation/racism/patriarchy-toxic masculinity/capitalism. So I guess in my day to day, I find it hard to be seeing it in multiple ways (some days it's in my face, but most days it's like a low hum in the background). Omgosh it's really big topics but it's my struggle.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to participating here in the forums. I'm going to aim to check in once a week and try to contribute in any way I can. Cheers y'all!

4 REPLIES 4