Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

I_matter
Casual Contributor

Self worth

Hi. I am new to this group, I'm not even sure if I am in the right place as I have not been diagnosed with a complex mental health issue. However, i am seeing my doctor tomorrow as I have been feeling so unhappy for the past couple of years. It has something to do with work and meaningful relationship, or lack of it. I have been working for a company for almost 14 years and up to 2-3 years ago, I felt like I mattered to both management and to my co-workers. Then we had a change of managers and I now feel like I don't matter at all. A lot of duties that I used to do have now been taken from me by a new and younger supervisor. Even some of the co-workers who used to come to me for assistance do not even acknowledge me now. I have been thinking of applying for a different job but I am worried that I won't be able to get a job as stable as the one I have now. Another thing that is making me so unhappy is the lack of meaningful relationship in my life. I got divorced nearly 10 years ago and that has made it hard for me to trust anyone. I don't really want to be in a relationship but I get so lonely sometimes. I also don't have any close friends that I talk to or go out with regularly. I used to say all I needed was my children. But now that they're grown up and have their own partners, they don't even worry about me. They don't message or call me regularly. They catch up with their friends more often than they catch up with me. All I have at hone is an old dog who is getting sickly every passing day and will probably "leave" me soon, too. I feel like I need something that will give me a feeling of importa