Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Mimm
Senior Contributor

Captivating silence...

Hi. I am new to this. Felt like I needed to reach out. Like most. I am struggling, and have been for quite some time. I do everything I'm asked, yet I can't seem to find the "right" path, or even any path at that. Everyone around me, seems so content with life, whereas my head is a whirlwind of negativity. Thoughts consume my every moment, I plan everything around my destructive behaviours. And silence... Seems to be the only way I exist...

Is it just me or are there others?

6 REPLIES 6

Re: Captivating silence...

@Mimm. How long have you been feeling so 'lost? Did you have any sort of goals in your life or did you just do what was expected? If you've always just done what was expected and now suddenly you have to start making decisions, it is hard. What sort of destructive behaviour are you experiencing? Are you thinking of self-harm, if you are, I hope you can contact lifeline or Beyond Blue for some guidance. With self-harm, it is a sort of control, but it not a good control, self harm is destructive because while you may feel 'good' at the time, later, the next day/week/month, you regret it because hurting yourself hasn't gained you anything except lack of control. People who self-harm actually lose control over their emotions and let bad emotions rule. Do you have hobbies, interests, anything that makes you feel good about yourself. If you can recall when you felt really good about yourself and you remember why you felt good, that would be a good structure to rebuild.