Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Queenie
Community Elder

It's been a while...

Hi I'm new to Sane forums and it's been a while since I last used an online forum for help and advice (I usually use a Facebook group but seeing as my partner is also a member there, I feel I cannot say what's really on my mind). So here I am...

I am 37 years old and live with schizophrenia and depression. I was diagnosed with schizophrenia in 2009 after being misdiagnosed with borderline personality disorder in 2006 (they simply asked me after a suicide attempt if I felt empty and my positive answer prompted the incorrect diagnosis). For ten years now I have been living with mental illness and after every year I feel like things are stunted and I am degenerating somewhat. I see friends and family members succeed, have children, graduate from studies and have meaningful employment and have great lives i general. Me, I live alone with a pet rat, I'm on the disability pension and have never managed to complete study because my illness always means I spend lengthy stays in hospital and miss too much class time and I fail. I lost my marriage in 2009 followed by my home and my job (I used to work for a government department and they asked me to resign once my diagnosis of schizophrenia was known, despite glowing performance appraisals).