Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Queenie
Community Elder

My pdoc

I had an appointment with my psychiaitrist yesterday and I noticed he is as far from recovery orientated as you can get. Why have I only just noticed this now after seeing him for years and years? He is still of the opinion that I'll never recover, despite having less and less time in hospital and being discharged from any sort of community support services. I found it was bothering me, especially since I am now studying for my Diploma in Mental Health. I hope his attitude doesn't send me backwards.

Do others find their doctors not in the recovery mindset? If yes, do you feel this could hamper your recovery journey?

6 REPLIES 6
Kurra
Community Elder

Re: My pdoc

I haven't had this problem @Queenie but if I had I would certainly be looking around for a psychiatrist with a much more positive attitude. It's really important to find someone who is prepared to understand that recovery or at the very least partial recovery is possible. 💕

I think you're probably right @Kurra

It's a shame though because his mental health nurse working with him (and giving me my depot injections) it very recovery orientated. I haven't seen her recently however as I've been staying on the other side of the city these past couple of weeks. 

I think he needs an attitude re-adjustment! If I find another pdoc, it will be a big hit to the hip pocket because my current doc is the only one on Brisbane's northside who bulk bills those on a pension. 

Kurra
Community Elder

It could be an invaluable way to spend your money @Queenie.