Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

TophOfGallifrey
Casual Contributor

Newbie here, handle with care

Hi all
I saw an ad on TV for this site so thought I would check it out
I'm currently living with PTSD and Depression (as well as other health issues) and apart from my psychiatrist (who only get to see once every two months because she is so in demand) I don't have anyone I can talk to about it, no one who gets it or even tries to understand.
I keep being told to "keep my chin up" and "get on with life" but people don't understand. I thought coming here might help, finding people who can understand.
I probably won't post heaps but I would like to chat with people so say hi if you wanna chat 🙂
5 REPLIES 5
Former-Member
Not applicable

Re: Newbie here, handle with care

Hi @TophOfGallifrey,

I'm one of the moderators on the Forums. First of all, I have to say I love your username! As a fellow Whovian myself, I welcome you to the SANE Forums! Smiley Happy

I also just wanted to say well done for coming online and seeking some support... I know a lot of the members here would empathise with what you are going through. It can be really hard trying to be strong all the time, especially when things feel overwhelming. Having other people tell you to "keep your chin up" can be so condescending in those times.

Please feel free to browse through some of the other threads on the Forum. If you want to see some other threads that are discussing things like PTSD and Depression, all you have to do is search for those terms in the search bar at the top of the page.