Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

flatshift
Casual Contributor

Not all who wander are lost?

Hi guys,

I don't know how I ended up here but it seems right..

I'm not sure what to say as I'm not good with words but I'll try. I'm feeling so helpless and lost. I'll be honest I'm 26, and I guess a lot of the younger generation is brought up knowing its ok to talk about your feeling etc, but not me. I guess the way I see is "feelings are like your mothers breasts. You know where they are, but there best left unfelt"

I left school not long after turning 16, I couldn't do it. I got a job as a apprentice mechanic, working 16 hour days for $300 a week.
I busted my ass for 4 years. Worked till my fingers bled. In 4 years I only took 2 sick days. I wanted to prove I was the best. The last 2 years at that place took its toll, I found out my boss had bipolar and stopped taking his meds. I got constant abuse. Still despite that, head down ass up.

After I left I worked for a few company's. I finally found my "forever job". Building hot rods and classics. My boss was a superstar. He meant the world to me! Unfortunately, he passed away after Christmas, and that took its toll. His sons came in and ran the business but they were destroying everything he did and I couldn't be part of that.
I left, worked a few more places, but I could see my motivation was dropping.
My current job isn't in the automotive industry. Been there nearly 2 years. Same as I've always been taught. Head down ass up. Prove your worth.
Now I feel I'm beyond giving a shit. Almost tired of trying to kick the worlds ass.
Stress levels are through the roof, don't sleep much.