Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

autisticadult
Casual Contributor

Hello - newbie here

Hi….frankly I’m not even sure where to start.
I am a diagnosed adult autistic, I have a great full time job…but I have so much past trauma that I have never ever dealt with I’m getting to the point where I’m starting to think along the lines of “50 is a good innings”….

I am having a hard time dealing with perimenopause symptoms which just affect everything these days.

I have been to so many psychologists in recent years - to tell them my story…only to be told after one or two sessions that they cannot help me…kind of makes you feel like you are just damaged beyond repair. 
Anyone that actually deals with adult autism patients is either horrendously priced or has a waiting list of anything up to six months - fat lot of good that does when your thoughts right now are getting darker and darker….

I have extremely rigid thinking issues….limerance issues…..severe loneliness as I live in a part of Australia where I have no family and very friends (who are hard enough to come by as an autistic adult) plus a myriad of other things and I often think that nobody wants to hear it, and besides there are people out there worse off than me….

I have a great professional job that I love….but I have meltdowns and problems around emotional regulation these days - which I never ever had and constantly find myself wishing I could go back to the person I was when I was 30 before all the trauma happened….but I can’t.

I have been told I’m suspect ADHD as well and I don’t even want to go down that diagnosis path because it would seem professionals are just not able to help me in my experience anyway….