Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Snoz
Casual Contributor

New bipolar 2 confirmation and work

Newbie here and have recently had bipolar 2 confirmed by a psychiatrist after decades of mental health struggles. It is both a relief and frightening at the same time.

I know the condition has been impacting my relationships and work especially recently as the ssri I was on had me rapid cycling.

What I would like to ask is if and how anyone with Bipolar has discussed this with an employer?

17 REPLIES 17

Re: New bipolar 2 confirmation and work

Evening @Snoz and welcome to the forum family!

My name is Rhye and I'm a peer support worker in the forums. I just want to start by acknowledging the strength it takes to join a forum like this and to reach out for help, it's not always easy. To your question – I've never discussed my actual mental health diagnosis with an employer, but I have told them I'm struggling with my mental health, and taken sick leave when things were really tough. 

Does your place of work have an HR department or someone you feel you can speak to with a level of confidence that it will be kept confidential in the first instance? 

Rhye ☘️

PS – if you ever need a moderator you can always tag one like this @moderator 

Thanks Rhye,

No HR and I report direct to the owner/ceo. I know there are protections under fair work so not so concerned there. I kind of feel that part of reducing the stigma around bipolar involves being open about it and was just seeking others experiences. Particularly as it is an ongoing condition. 

I wholeheartedly agree with you when it comes to reducing stigma and sharing ones story @Snoz.