Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Cells
New Contributor

Feel sick when doing anything productive

I don't think I've been able to confidently function with my daily responsibilities for a while and I've attributed this feeling to a developing imposter syndrome. I am a research student and had a successful undergraduate experience but now in my post-graduate, I have struggled with maintaining the level of work or even motivation to do anything. I cannot deal with looking at the data that I have produced and have fallen into the pit of procrastination. This has extended to my self-care as I have began to self-loathe. I constantly feel like I don't deserve my degree or my qualifications and this feeling is exacerbated when I am surrounded by people who are in different worlds, such as trades-people and business professions, who do not understand that I do not just shut out my work life when I get home, I bring the work with me, at least in my mind. I know that I am capable, my previous grades have proven this, I just cannot do anything without feeling sick in the stomach. In fact, I am writing this just after I ran away from a presentation I had to do that was related to my research topic; couldn't make it to 2 minutes without panicking, crying and logging off (as it was online). I am in the spiral of producing work of bare minimum quality because I cannot spend too much time of it without hurling, and having panic attacks when I start despising the work that I had produced. Going for walks to clear my mind, relaxing by doing things that make me happy, all do not work because the feeling comes back as soon as I have to start any task. 

5 REPLIES 5