Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

PinkPlantLady
New Contributor

So sick of being overlooked

I've been recently diagnosed with BPD and have a history of self-harm and suicidal ideation. I work in the mental health and NDIS industry and really try my best to help others to not go through what I have and focus on the journey to recovery.

For background, I battled for over four years to get someone to listen to me when I said that I needed help and that it wasn't 'just' anxiety and depression and could be solved with prescribing me drugs (obviously not discounting those who struggle with anxiety and depression, but I knew that diagnosis just didn't fit, and I am a supporter of medication as a tool to assist people to recover). The first time I even sought mental health assistance, I was turned away and told it was 'just' stress. That led to me self-destructing, leaving uni and completely changing my entire life trajectory, because I couldn't cope and was dealing with rampant depressive episodes at the time. Luckily I was able to work through that, but in the last two years, my mental health deteriorated rapidly - I escalated to self-harm and had serious tendencies towards suicidal ideation, both of which I still struggle with, and I was then diagnosed with BPD after my current therapist and I campaigned my doctor to finally re-refer me to a Psychiatrist. I am medicated on a large dose of antidepressents and have started taking anti-psychotics to help with my mood swings but I'm still having issues.